Intersection

Booking Agency

Manu Lanvin

  • Roster
  • Agent: Bernard M.

New Album : GRAND CASINO ( Veryshow / Warner)
Release Date: April 2018 - (Blues, Rock, Explosion)

After three rock solo albums produced between 2000 and 2006 (« VENIR AU MONDE » « LES TEMPS MAUVAIS » et «  FAIBLE HUMAIN ») Manu Lanvin finally found his most natural way with the « Devil Blues », a power trio that perfectly suits him.

There is no doubt his collaboration with famous Texan musician Calvin Russell, for whom he co-wrote and produced in 2009 his parting album « Dawg Eat Dawg », was a start in this new direction. This radical change was rather clever as since the release of his fourth album “MAUVAIS CASTING” in 2012, opportunities have come one after the other for our national French bluesman.

One hundred and twenty gigs in 2013 in prestigious venues in Europe and in the United States (L’Olympia, Apollo Theater, Montreux Jazz Festival, Cahors Blues Festival, Cognac Blues Passion, …), an invitation from Claude Nobs and Quincy Jones to perform in New-York for the Jazz Foundation of America’s Charities, a selection to represent France in Memphis (TN) at the IBC (International Blues Challenge in Memphis) in 2014 and the Cognac Passions Prize won in July 2015. During his intense tour, Manu will get enough time to record the brilliant « SON(S) OF THE BLUES » which flows from the coarse voice and vibrant guitars, and keeps from the United States the Southern heritage in general and the Highway 61 in particular.

On November 13, 2015, Paris and in the Bataclan went trough a terrorist attack. French youth, freedom and the world of entertainment are targeted, the whole world is overwhelmed. "If Gods are here to kill, then I prefer to be the Devil because mine does not kill no one, mine preaches peace and love through music, blues and rock ’n’ roll" says Manu who got a tattoo of the devil in his back. A strong image shot by the photographer Eric Martin who will become the cover album of « BLUES, BOOZE AND ROCK ’N’ ROLL »  released in September 2016.

 « BLUES, BOOZE AND ROCK ’N’ ROLL »  is undoubtedly the album of maturity for Manu and will earn him the praise of the musical press and the recognition of professional medias; the album is selected as "Best Album of the Year" by Le Parisien, his live performance is selected as one of the best performances of the year by Rock & Folk Magazine, and Manu is nominated as "Best Male Performer" by French Cristal Globes in 2017. A blues artist finally appears among the great names of the french scene.

Acclaimed by an ever increasing fan base an acknowledged by his peers such as Paul Personne who sits regularly on stage with him or Johnny Hallyday who invites him to open his shows Manu perfectly suits the disillusioned Bluesman’s costume who sings the low blows of life, but also at the same time an optimistic rocker who preaches the « devil’s music » for a better world.

In the middle of his 2017 tour, Manu made a three-day stop at 4A Sound Factory, a recording studio located in Normandy, to record a few covers. The 3 days will soon become 13 days, during which Manu, surrounded by his favorite musicians, Jimi Montout (on drums), Nicolas Belanger (on bass), Diabolo (on the harmonica), Mike Latrell (on keyboards ) and Jérémy Lacoste (on slide guitar), is embarking on the production of a new album composed of some great classic blues tunes revisited but also original songs, all recorded live in this beautiful vintage recording studio. The result is « GRAND CASINO », a pure album of Blues 'n' Roll where you can also discover and enjoy some featuring and duets with prestigious friends such as Taj Mahal, Beverly Jo Scott, Johnny Gallagher and Popa Chubby who have accepted the Devil’s invitation…

Intersection

Booking Agency

MANU LANVIN

  • Pop-Rock
  • Agent: Bernard M.

New Album : GRAND CASINO ( Veryshow / Warner)
Release Date: April 2018 - (Blues, Rock, Explosion)

Après trois premiers albums sortis entre 2000 et 2006 (« VENIR AU MONDE » « LES TEMPS MAUVAIS » et «  FAIBLE HUMAIN ») dans lesquels il mettait surtout l’accent sur la chanson Rock, Manu Lanvin a finalement trouvé sa voie la plus naturelle avec le Devil Blues, son power trio électrique qui lui colle parfaitement à la peau.

C’est incontestablement la collaboration avec le chanteur Texan Calvin Russell pour lequel il co-écrit, produit et réalise en 2009 l’album testament « Dawg Eat Dawg » qui a été le déclencheur de cette nouvelle orientation. Ce virage à angle droit fût judicieux puisque dès la sortie de l’album « MAUVAIS CASTING » » en 2012, les succès et les événements se sont enchainés à un rythme effréné pour notre bluesman national.

Cent vingt dates de concerts en 2013 avec des scènes prestigieuses en Europe comme aux Etats-Unis (L’Olympia, L’Apollo Theater, le Montreux Jazz Festival, le Cahors Blues Festival, Le Cognac Blues Passion…), une invitation conjointe de Claude Nobs et de Quincy Jones à venir se produire à New York lors des galas de la Jazz Foundation of America, une sélection pour représenter la France à Memphis lors de l’IBC (International Blues Challenge) en 2014 et finalement le Prix Cognac Blues Passions obtenu en juillet 2015.  Dans cette tournée infernale, le Devil Blues trouvera le temps de produire en 2014 le génial « SON(S) OF THE BLUES » qui conserve en lui une grande partie de l’héritage musical du Sud des États-Unis et de la Highway 61.

Le 13 novembre 2015, Paris et en particulier le Bataclan subissent une attaque terroriste sans précédent. La jeunesse, la liberté et le monde du spectacle sont visés, le monde entier est bouleversé. « Si les Dieux sont ici pour tuer, alors je préfère être le Diable car le mien ne tue pas, le mien prône la paix et l’Amour par la musique, le Blues et le Rock ’N’ Roll » se dit Manu qui se fait tatouer le diable dans le dos. Une image forte immortalisée par le photographe Eric Martin qui deviendra le visuel de la pochette de l’album « BLUES, BOOZE AND ROCK ’N’ ROLL  sorti en septembre 2016.

 

« BLUES, BOOZE AND ROCK ’N’ ROLL » est sans aucun doute l’album de la maturité pour Manu et lui vaudra l’éloge de la presse musicale et la reconnaissance des professionnels; l’album est sélectionnée comme « Meilleur album de l’année » par Le Parisien, son spectacle est retenu comme une des meilleures performances de l’année par le magazine Rock & Folk, et Manu est nominé comme « Meilleur interprète masculin » aux Globes de Cristal 2017. Un Bluesman apparait enfin au milieu des grand noms de la scène française.

Acclamé par un public de plus en plus nombreux aux concerts du « Diable » et salué par ses pairs, comme Paul Personne qui le rejoint régulièrement sur scène ou comme Johnny Hallyday qui l’invite à assurer ses premières parties, Manu endosse parfaitement le costume du Bluesman désabusé qui chante les coups bas de la vie tout en restant un rocker optimiste qui prône la musique du diable pour un monde meilleur.  

 

Pendant sa tournée 2017, Manu fait une halte de trois jours au 4A Sound Factory, un studio d’enregistrement situé dans le domaine de Forges Les Eaux, afin d’y enregistrer quelques reprises. Ces 3 jours deviendront très vite 13 jours de studio, durant lesquels Manu, entouré de ses musiciens préférés, Jimi Montout (à la batterie), Nicolas Belanger (à la basse), Diabolo (à l’harmonica), Mike Latrell (aux claviers) et Jérémy Lacoste (à la Slide guitare), se lance dans l’enregistrement d’un nouvel album composé de quelques grands classiques de blues revisités mais aussi de chansons originales, le tout enregistré en live dans ce superbe studio d’enregistrement vintage. Le résultat donne « GRAND CASINO» un pur album de Blues ‘n’ Roll où l’on découvre et savoure également avec délectation quelques duos avec des amis prestigieux tels que Taj Mahal, Beverly Jo Scott, Johnny Gallagher et Popa Chubby qui ont répondu présent à l’appel du Diable…